top of page
SAYING' HI!

I Detangled My Hair Using Okra


Okra Natural Hair Detangler

I have used okra (ochro) as a leave-in conditioner in my hair before, but I wanted to try it out as a detangler. Type 4 hair folks, it works!! I imagine the slip would be even more evident on hair types with looser curls.


This time, instead of mashing up the okra in the pot (looking back, I can't imagine why I did that - lol), I just let it boil, then strained out the water. The result was clear liquid with virtually no solid pieces, which end up lodged in my hair

Okra Detangler Type 4 Natural Hair

I let the liquid cool, then applied it to sections of my hair. To test it out by itself, I also used it on sections with no water added to aid in detangling. Either way, the slip of the okra juice or gel worked wonders. I will definitely recommend this natural detangler to anyone. Make sure you're not allergic to okra :)


I did not add any oil to the gel. I used it 'straight'.


Here's the video for the process:

Let me know if you used this detangler and if you liked it, in the comments below.


Until my next post,

Sharing is Caring

bottom of page