top of page
SAYING' HI!

My Hair Growth Rate - Amazing!


If you are a naturalista, and especially one who devours YouTube or the internet for hair care tips, you are probably already familiar with these figures:


(1) Hair grows at the average rate of 0.44 millimetres daily which comes up to

(2) Half-inch per month


This is not to say that each person's hair will hold fast to this rate. No two heads are alike. Hair growth is determined by a number of factors, including:


1.Genetics

2. Vitamin / Mineral supply to the scalp where hair production takes place

3. Water (moisture) supply to the body, and therefore the hair

4. Manipulation (what you do, how you do it and with what you do it)

5. ***Physiological changes in your body (e.g. pregnancy, stress)


*** These would be linked to Bullet No. 2 because during bodily changes, there is a change in the vitamin / mineral production which eventually influence hair growth.


Hair growth rate is also affected by age, illness, environmental conditions and so on. It is important for you to find out what your hair growth rate is.


MY HAIR GROWTH RATE


I measured my hair at one point in time on February 20, 2016 and then at another point in time (today) on May 20, 2016 and estimated that the growth per month is 1/2 inch. My hair grew 1.5 inches during the three months.


>>> View 'What is My Hair Type?' video


This picture was taken on February 20, 2016

Natural Nacyra Hair Type 4A 4B 4C

This picture was taken on May 20, 2016 (read note below)

Hair Growth Type 4 Hair Natural Nacyra

Note:

My hair is noticeably longer, but the length shown is affected by a recent natural hair straightener that I used in my hair. So, although my hair has indeed grown (as you will see clearly in the video), the length is exaggerated by the fact that my hair hangs more loosely than it naturally does.

I am still in the process of restoring my natural curl pattern by adding moisture-rich natural ingredients (such as Okra) and plain water to my hair.

HERE'S THE VIDEO OF MY LENGTH CHECK

(with snapshots of my previous length check video):

HOW TO MAINTAIN YOUR NEW LENGTH:

So you see your hair growing and you say 'Amen!' That's the first part. The second part is how do you maintain your length or new growth?


These tips may help you:


1. Minimize the amount of manipulation that you do to your hair. Type 4 hair is characterised by many coils which make tangling very easy when using hair tools such as combs and brushes. Try to avoid combing out your hair every day. Use styles that eliminate the need for combing, such as twists, corn rows and even a bun with the ends tucked away.


2. Moisturise and seal your hair often (daily even, depending on the moisturiser you use). I use different moisturisers in my hair. Moisturisers contain water as a chief ingredient. Products containing humectants, such as natural glycerin and honey, help to attract atmospheric moisture to your hair so your hair remains softer longer. Moisturised hair is more elastic and therefore resists breakage more efficiently than un-moisturised (dry) hair.


3. Seal your hair shaft regularly. Sealants are typically applied after a moisturiser and as the name suggests, they seal in that moisture. Sealants are usually oil-based (whether mineral or natural oils). My sealants are presently Jamaican Black Castor Oil and DAX grease. I use Organic Coconut Oil as well, but I have finished my jar.


4. Trim your ends at least every three months. Trimming your hair ends restores health and vitality to your hair. Whenever I trim my hair, my curls pop! Trimming gets rid of single-strand knots and split ends that can ruin your hair shaft as time goes on.

Until my next post,

Sharing is Caring

bottom of page