top of page
SAYING' HI!

Review: ORS Olive Oil Hair Line


Disclaimer: This is my honest, unpaid review of the highlighted products. I have not been compensated in any way for this post.

I made a big sacrifice today, changing up my wash day routine to accommodate this product review. If I could turn, turn back the hands of time - LOL. Really, if I could, I would. This was a hair disaster.


MY REVIEWS


PRODUCT #1


Name: ORS Olive Oil Creamy Aloe Shampoo (packet size)

Application: Wet hair thoroughly, apply a generous amount and work into a lather. Rinse hair thoroughly and repeat shampoo, leaving on the hair for 2-3 minutes. Rinse hair thoroughly and towel dry. Condition with ORS Olive Oil Replenishing Pak.


*Contains ammonium lauryl sulphate and ammonium laureth sulphate as its second and third ingredients, respectively (after water) and additional sulphates.


As usual, I did not detangle my hair before-hand. I don't do this because I don't like the idea of detangling my hair twice (before and after washing). It also allows me to see how effective my wash products really are in detangling and promoting moisture.

My Opinion


I had a bit of difficulty opening the packet even though it came with a pre-inserted tear in the packet. The packaging material is very strong so even with that tear, it took a lot of teeth action (yep, I had a scissors on hand as well) to open it.


When it was finally torn open, the consistency and colour surprised the daylights out of me!! Why? I have no idea! Perhaps based on my experience with the colour of the Hair creme, I was expecting an opaque, thick product. I should have known that it would look like aloe because it was called 'creamy aloe'. Anyway, it literally pumped all over my hand when I opened the packet.


The scent was mild, and kind of aloe-y (if you've ever smelled an aloe plant). It wasn't particularly pleasant, just...there.

I found that the shampoo lathered up QUITE a a lot in my first application, which isn't always the case for shampoos. Usually, they take a while to build up a lather. In retrospect, when I looked at the ingredients, I saw quite a lot of sulphates so that explains the lather-making properties. There was also a lot of shampoo in the packet, so it could easily be used for at least two wash days.


Overall, the shampoo left my hair feeling very dry. There was slip, but it really dried out my hair.


Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars.



PRODUCT #2


Name: ORS Olive Oil Replenishing Pak (Conditioner)

Application: After shampooing with the ORS Olive Oil Creamy Aloe Shampoo, [apply] amount to hair and comb through for thorough distribution. [Place a] cap over the hair and sit under a warm dryer for 10-15 minutes or cover the hair for 45 minutes to 1 hour without heat. Rinse thoroughly.


My Opinion


Unlike the thin, runny consistency of the shampoo, the conditioner was thick!! It looked like a thick custard and smelled like lemon cake.

I didn't care for the smell. Applying the product to my hair, I realize that it wasn't enough to cover my whole head, even AFTER I added some water to thin it out. That was already a no-no! for me.


Even though it appeared so thick and creamy in the packet and on my hands, it really did not have that much slip. I did not attempt to detangle my hair at that point, although the instructions say to comb through hair, because I knew fully well that my hair would just break.


This picture below shows my hair with the conditioner in. It's still frizzy and no slip to cover my hair.

Nevertheless, I went straight to the next step which was to cover my hair shower cap for 1 hour, with no direct heat applied.

After the 1 hour wait, unfortunately my hair was in almost the same condition as when I began. I tried in vain to pass the comb through my hair, but with no luck. To make matters worse, there was a white ring around my hairline. It looked as if I had bleached my skin there. I have no idea what caused this discoloration. I am not a deep conditioning queen, so maybe that's a usual thing when you let product sit on your hair for an hour.


A pleasant surprise came when I rinsed out the conditioner from my hair. My hair strands actually felt soft and supple, almost as if there was a buildup of product on my hair. I rinsed it out as much as I could because I really don't like the feel of 'something' on my hair.


This picture shows the final look after rinsing out the conditioner.

Overall, I did not enjoy this product. It left my hair hard and not at all able to easily detangle.


Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars.



PRODUCT #3


Name: ORS Olive Oil Creme Hair Dress

Indication: Extra rich for dry, thirsty hair

Application: Apply a small amount to hands, rub together and massage through hair. Comb and style as usual.


My Opinion


I used this Creme Hair Dress before on my dry hair so was very familiar with how it works. It is very moisturizing, and goes on my hair BEAUTIFULLY. Your hair literally feels like heaven while you're smoothing it on. However, it is a bit too greasy for my liking. My hair does feel really soft and it retains moisture a whole lot (yes it does!), but it's just too much for my everyday use.

On this wash day, because of all the trauma my hair endured with the shampoo and conditioner, I wasn't going to leave moisturizing my hair to only this ORS hair creme, so I applied it only to the front of my hair and I used my favourite detangler (see my review here) to moisturize the rest of my hair. That detangler has not failed me yet and I've been using it for months!!

The above picture shows my usual twist that I do for the week. I rarely let out my hair these days. Waiting for my hair to get a bit stronger and longer to rock my fros (lol).

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Final thoughts: The shampoo and conditioner were rough on my hair. Even though my hair looks soft in the twists, they are still a bit rough when I touch them. After reading another blogger's review, I realized that the products might contain protein which contributes to a very hard feeling on one's hair. The hair creme does what it says because it really does keep moisture in your hair.


I think that these products will work better on Type 3 hair.


Re-purchase? I will not re-purchase the shampoo or conditioner, but I will re-purchase the hair creme, not to use daily, but to use when my hair is extremely dry for whatever reason.

This is the video that shows my entire wash day routine. Do enjoy and please subscribe for more natural hair videos and tips!


Until my next post,


Sharing is Caring

bottom of page