top of page
SAYING' HI!

Review: Sunny Isle Extra-Dark Jamaican Black Castor Oil


Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored review. It is my honest opinion about the below-referenced product which I purchased myself.

Generally speaking, if you re-purchase a product, chances are you are pleased with its performance. This is my second time buying the Sunny Isle Extra-Dark Jamaican Black Castor Oil (8 oz). The first time, I used it too quickly, applying it generously to my let-out hair. This time, I intend to treasure it more because it is relatively expensive (on a student budget), and it works very well.


Side note, although this oil is recommended (as per the manufacturer) for hair and skin use, I only use it on my skin when I am rubbing off the excess oil on my hands. I find it is WAY too thick to use on my skin otherwise.


Fact: Castor oil is derived from the castor plant (Ricinus communis) and is collected by pressing the seeds of the plant. You can make your own homemade version.


PRODUCT DETAILS


Name: Sunny Isle Extra-Dark Jamaican Black Castor Oil.

Indications: Encourages long, healthy hair.

Other Usages: Also repairs and replenishes dry skin and other skin conditions. Muscle aches and arthritis.

Directions: Massage small amount of Sunny Isle JBCO into scalp. Do not rinse out.

Ingredient: Ricinus communis (Castor Oil)


MY REVIEW


Packaging - The packaging for this bottle is quite tasteful, and I am sure practical. Oils should not be exposed to direct sunlight or heat, so the dark brown glass of the bottle helps to filter out some of the light.


Scent - This is pure castor oil which smells like...hmmm...this might be difficult to describe. Okay, the first whiff reminds me of heavy, unscented vaseline. Immediately after comes a more aromatic scent like a barley or malt. It is SO hard to describe! When you first apply it to your hair, you do get the scent, but it goes away after a short while.


Colour - This is the 'extra dark' version of the Sunny Isle brand of castor oil and the colour is that of dark brown honey when in a substantial amount. If you rub it between your fingers, there is no visible colouration.


Thickness / Viscosity - This oil is thicker than regular cooking oil. It pours more slowly, but will definitely fall out of the bottle if you continue to tip it. It has the consistency of perhaps a shampoo. The oil is extremely sticky, like honey or candy on your fingers, and it has a ton of slip! A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY!! As soon as you apply this to your hair, you will know without the shadow of a doubt, why it is believed to promote hair growth. It literally acts like a shield over the hair shaft that makes it so slick that no tangling can occur.


Ease of absorption: It may be surprising that even though the oil is very heavy, thick and sticky, it absorbs into the hair or scalp very quickly. I use an application bottle with tip to place the oil on my scalp (between parts) and on my hair ends, and rub it in with my fingers. Within a few minutes, the oil has absorbed.


A P P L I C A T I O N:


I use the Jamaican Black Castor Oil to grease my scalp and hair ends. I also apply it to any areas that I feel need a growth boost, like my front edges and temple areas.


TIP: This is useful when planning to oil your hair before going to bed, or lie down. You should ideally wait for about 15 minutes before sleeping so that the oil will not rub off on your scarf or pillow.


This video shows how I currently apply the oil:


My final thoughts: If you hadn't figured it out already, I love this oil. It moisturizes my hair and seals it in, protecting it from the harsh elements and from tangling. I can wear my hair out in an afro and later in the day, it will still be soft. It is a bit greasy, but I just use a small amount.


I rate this product 6.5 out of 5 stars!


Until my next post,


Sharing is Caring

bottom of page