top of page
SAYING' HI!

Review: Shea Moisture Yucca and Plantain Hair Products Line


Disclaimer: This post is not sponsored. It is my honest opinion of the products detailed below which I purchased myself.

Several months ago, I made my first 'haul' of Shea Moisture products. I bought the shampoo, conditioner and deep conditioner in the Yucca and Plantain line.


Benefits of the active ingredients:

Yucca - Promotes hair growth for thicker, fuller hair.

Plantain Extract - Rich in Vitamin B complex. Nourishes hair with moisture.

Baobab Oil - Contains Vitamins A, C, D, E and F to fortify and strengthen hair

(www.shea moisture.com)


Now, this trio is a protein-packed team, but at that time, what did I know about hair protein and all that jazz? Nada. I didn't even know there was protein in the products in the form of Hydrolized Rice Protein, and I definitely didn't know the effect of protein on my hair. So, my results were perhaps a surprise to me.



PRODUCT #1: SHAMPOO


Product Description:


Name: Yucca & Plantain Anti-Breakage Strengthening Shampoo with Baobab Oil & Cilantro Extract

Indication: Frizzy, Split & Breaking Hair

Claims: Moisturize, control and boost shine

Application: Apply to wet hair and gently massage into a rich lather. Rinse thoroughly. Repeat if necessary.

Safety: Sulphate free and colour safe (as with all Shea Moisture products)


My opinion... sigh!


What I enjoyed most about this shampoo was its rich, foamy lather although it took the second application of shampoo to really get the thick lather (as with a lot of other brands of shampoo). If you've tried a Shea Moisture shampoo before, you would know that the lather is not like regular shampoos. It has a VERY FINE feel. I can't explain it much, other than to say that it does foam up but the foam is very soft or fine.


I was also able to work on detangling my hair just with this shampoo, which is always awesome.


Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. On the negative side, I did not appreciate the scent. It was rather hair product-y, like a smell you would get from being in a beauty salon when you are relaxing your hair. It wasn't a pleasant scent, not a floral or fruity scent - just a chemical-ly smell.


Although I was able to start detangling my hair from using the shampoo, it didn't make my hair extra soft. Here's a picture of the product as it sits on my table months after I last used it. You can see a substance on the inside of the bottle. I believe that is the protein and it just shows how protein really would thicken your hair by adhering to your strands.


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.



PRODUCT #2:CONDITIONER


Product Description:


Name: Yucca & Plantain Anti-Breakage Strengthening Conditioner with Baobab Oil & Cilantro Extract

Indication: Frizzy, Split & Breaking Hair

Claims: Moisturize, control and boost shine

Application: Don't have the bottle anymore and can't find it anywhere online

Safety: Sulphate free and colour safe (as with all Shea Moisture products)


I used this conditioner directly after the shampoo. Even though I don't have the bottle anymore (I used out all), I really can't say anything good about this product. It left my hair HARD, seriously. There was nothing soft about this conditioner at all. AFTER learning about protein overload, I thought maybe it had my hair too stiff or brittle because it was adding more protein to my hair after a protein shampoo. It also didn't have any slip, I thought.


Rating: 1 out of 5.



PRODUCT #3: MASQUE


Product Description:


Name: Yucca & Plantain Anti-Breakage Strengthening Conditioner with Baobab Oil & Cilantro Extract

Indication: Frizzy, Split & Breaking Hair

Claims: Moisturize, control and boost shine

Application: Don't have the bottle anymore and can't find it anywhere online

Safety: Sulphate free and colour safe (as with all Shea Moisture products)


The first time I used this masque, I left it in my hair thinking it was a leave-in. Oh my goodness! My hair felt hard, obviously! The second time I used it, I realized I had to wash it out, and my hair did benefit from the conditioning. It was more moisturizing than the conditioner, I have to say.


Still, my hair did not favour the product too much.


Rating: 4 out of 5.


Final Thoughts on this line: I must say that even though my hair was hard (brittle), it really felt thick and I really believe that I got less breakage. I remember putting up my hair in one and thinking 'Wow! I have a lot of hair!', so the protein treatment did work. It just wasn't a comfortable experience in the shower. I like slip and a pleasant smell, and neither of the three products gave me that.


I think that it is too much protein at one time to use all three products on the same day. I haven't done a proper check, but I don't think that my hair is protein-sensitive because I remember using another protein treatment back when I had my relaxed hair, and my hair LOVED it.


Until next post,

Q. How does your hair respond to protein products? Let me know in the comments below.



Sharing is Caring

bottom of page