top of page
SAYING' HI!

What is My Hair Type?


Hair typing is a system of categorising our hair curl pattern that was first developed by Andre Walker. Basically, the system outlines four types of curl pattern identified by the numbers 1, 2, 3 or 4 with each pattern having a sub-category called A, B or C. In Walker's system, there was no identification of 4c hair, however.


Later, curl-typing systems were developed which included 4C hair.


Two hair chart examples are below:

(Source: www.naturalhairrules.com)


(Source: www.blackhairblackbeauty.co.uk)

Knowing your curl pattern is just one part of a comprehensive process of finding out your hair type. Ideally, you should also analyze your:


- Hair density

- Hair texture

- Hair porosity

- Hair elasticity


You can read more about each factor at Black Hair, Black Beauty and Natural Hair Rules.


Advantages to identifying your curl pattern:


Moisture retention is inextricably linked to your hair's curl pattern. Because of the nature of the curl pattern, kinkier (tighter) curls retain less moisture than looser curls. This is important so that you will know:


a. How often to moisturize your hair

b. What type of moisturizing and sealing products to use in your hair

c. What styles promote moisture retention


See? That's an entire hair care regimen based on curl pattern!


Hair Shrinkage!

Curls shrink your hair, and the tighter the curl, the more aggressive the shrinkage will be. Hair is known to shrink up to 75% of its stretched out length. You can just check any number of YouTube videos including mine to see how shrinkage affects our hair length.


How do you check for your curl type?

Some experts recommend that you analyze your curl pattern on dry hair. Others recommend doing it on hair that has been moistened with conditioner or a gel. I used gel on freshly-washed hair to bring out my curls.


What do the charts say about MY HAIR TYPE?

I know definitely that I am a Type 4Type 4 hair's curl pattern (4A, 4B and 4C), in general, ranges from curls the size of a crochet needle to a zig-zag curl pattern to no curls at all.


Guess what? I looked at so many charts and I STILL am not sure about what my hair types are within my head. I am certain that I am a Type 4, and I have 4C hair. I think I may have 4B as well, looking at my curls and comparing them to the charts, but I don't know if I have 4A.


This is a close-up shot of my hair against one of the charts. This is the front of my hair.

I will say, my father is of Indian and Portuguese descent, and my mother has very soft, fine hair. My immediate family members have Type 3 or at least 4A /4B hair.


Q: What hair type do you have? Leave a comment below.

Sharing is Caring

bottom of page