top of page
SAYING' HI!

I've Launched!


I've launched! ​Welcome to my Talking About Natural Hair with Natural Nacyra blog page. The intent of this page is to share all things natural hair that I experience in my journey as a 'new natural'. I haven't been the most diligent in terms of applying the golden rules of natural hair care such as moistening before manipulation, LOC method and all that, but I am becoming more aware of their importance in having healthy hair, and have started on a true hair care journey.


After 18 years of chemically relaxed or straightened hair, with about a one-year break in between when I phased out into natural hair, I finally did my 'big chop' in September 2014. I had wanted to take that step for a very long time but was never able to take the plunge. Why? I was unsure how my natural hair would comply in a professional setting. My previous transition experience was short-lived because I wasn't able to style my hair for work during the 'ugly phase' as I call it. The 'ugly phase' is the period of time between a TWA (teeny weeny afro) and your hair being able to easily go into a ponytail. I remember working part-time in an office, and the frustration and embarrassment I felt having to go to work in professional wear rocking a ratchet hair updo, I can't even recall if I eventually let it out in an afro puff. I don't think so. I think I may have suffered it up in a DON'T DO hair tie with the tiniest bit of hair showing at the end. The pain of the memory. Anyway, THAT memory is what held me back from big-chopping. So, what finally inspired me to do it?


It was a WHO - a fellow naturalista. One vacation, I bounced into a friend of mine who had a beautiful, long relaxed mid-back length mane when I first knew her. When I saw her over that particular holiday, she had cut it all off! I HAD to ask HER, of all people, HOW on earth she managed to do that. After all, I KNEW what her hair was like before. My question to her was 'How do you maintain it?' And she said, in a very matter-of-fact way, 'Girl! I just spritz some water in it (maybe some moisturizer, too, I can't remember) and style it!' I was in shock. The simplicity of her answer just knocked me out of the park. That was the straw that broke the camel's back for me. The NEXT day, I went to my usual barber (I wore a man-head style for a little while as well) and cut it all off!! ​The final product...!!

Q: Who or what inspired you to big chop? Share below in the comments.

Sharing is Caring

bottom of page